Vapor Trails Remix Available on Amazon

VT-remixThe long-awaited remix of Rush’s 2002 Vapor Trails album will be released October 1 and can be pre-ordered now on Amazon.

UPDATE: Officially released today, Sept. 30. Retailing for $9 on Amazon for the CD version.

UPDATE: Listen to complete album on Rolling Stone. 

UPDATE: Listen to samples.

UPDATE: Fans mixed on MP3 quality

UPDATE: Audio engineer Andy VanDette, who remastered the big Atlantic-era box set, The Studio Albums 1989-2007, shares his thoughts on the Vapor Trails remix in an interview.

Neil in his July blog post indicated that the remix was nearing completion when he said at the end of his post that Alex and Geddy were listening to the remixed album back in May.

Both the band and its fans have never been happy with the production of the album, which was Rush’s first studio album after a five-year hiatus. The album is one of the band’s darker ones, with many of the songs reflecting Neil’s thoughts about the tragic turn of events that can come out of the blue to recast the way one looks at the world.

Yet the album also has uplifting  pieces, like “One Little Victory” and the concluding track, “Out of the Cradle.” With the two pieces, the album starts and finishes on an optimistic note.

The CD retails for $13.83 on Amazon.

From the promotional material:

“This year’s celebration of Rush continues with the highly anticipated release of a remixed version of the band 2002’s album VAPOR TRAILS. In 2009, two tracks from VAPOR TRAILS (“One Little Victory” and “Earthshine”) were remixed for the Retrospective III collection, setting fans into a frenzy in anticipation of a possible remixed version of the entire album being released one day. Four years later, that day is finally approaching.

“Vapor Trails was an album made under difficult and emotional circumstances – sort of like Rush learning how to be Rush again – and as a result, mistakes were made that we have longed to correct. David Bottrill’s remixes have finally brought some justice and clarity to this deserving body of our work,” says Geddy Lee.

“Every song has been given a new life, from the fire of ‘One Little Victory,’ ‘Secret Touch,’ and ‘Ceiling Unlimited’ to the melodic musicality of ‘Sweet Miracle’ and ‘How It Is’… these songs have been redeemed. Thank you David!”

“The remixed version of VAPOR TRAILS will also be included in the new 7-disc boxed set THE STUDIO ALBUMS 1989-2007, which features every studio album Rush recorded for Atlantic Records. The collection includes the Gold & Platinum albums Presto (1989), Roll The Bones (1991), Counterparts (1993), and Test For Echo (1996), as well as their covers EP Feedback (2004) and the Billboard Top 5 album Snakes & Arrows (2007). THE STUDIO ALBUMS 1989-2007 features each album presented in a wallet sleeve that faithfully reproduces the original artwork (except for VAPOR TRAILS, which features a reinterpreted version of the original cover) and is available on October 1st from Atlantic/Rhino.”

Pre-order now.

 More This and That.

~ by rvkeeper on August 1, 2013.

%d bloggers like this: