Icon 2

This latest compilation contains the selections from last year’s Icon compilation plus a selection of live songs.

Icon 2 (release date: July 19, 2011)

Disc 1
1. Working Man
2. Fly by Night
3. The Necromancer
4. The Twilight Zone
5. Closer to the Heart
6. Circumstances
7. Freewill
8. Limelight
9. The Analog Kid
10. Red Sector A
11. Marathon
12. Force Ten

Disc 2 (all selections live)
1. Bastille Day
2. 2112
3. The Spirit of Radio
4. Tom Sawyer
5. La Villa Strangiato
6. Closer to the Heart
7. New World Man
8. Vital Signs
9. The Big Money
10. Mystic Rhythms
11. Time Stand Still

The selling point is the compilation of live versions of pieces from many of the band’s earlier albums. But this would make the band’s 12th compilation and the seventh in eight years. That’s almost one a year. When you add to that the three live albums that have come out in the last eight years (and eight tribute albums plus two “special releases” (Moving Pictures and Roll the Bones) in the same time frame), you’re talking a lot of product. Is there a risk of watering down the brand?

Rush Compilations: Nothing Exceeds like Excess

18 Recordings of “Tom Sawyer” . . . and more!

~ by rvkeeper on June 17, 2011.

%d bloggers like this: