‘Headlong Flight’ to be Included on Roadrunner Box-Set

Headlong Flight Roadrunner Records, the heavy metal and hard rock label that Rush joined about a year and a half ago, is releasing a 30-year anniversary 4-CD box-set featuring cuts from the artists it has represented over the years. Rush’s “Headlong Flight” from Clockwork Angels is included on the fourth CD.


XXX: Three Decades of Roadrunner Records delivers a blistering overview of the label’s formidable first three decades of existence spread across four carefully assembled CDs,” the company says in its announcement.

Rush joined the label in February 2012 after years with Atlantic Records (and, before that, Mercury) to tap into the label’s energy and marketing acumen.

“We have tremendous respect for Roadrunner Records, and what Cees Wessels and Jonas Nachsin [the company executives] have built on a worldwide level,” Rush manager Ray Danniels said at the time.


Dream Theater

The label made its name as a home for heavy metal acts, including early ultra-heavy acts like Mercyful Fate, Carnivore, Deicide, Brujeria, and Suffocation. It also represents some big-name heavy metals acts like Slipknot, Machine Head, Sepultura, Opeth, and Dream Theater.



It has a smaller contingent of hard-rock acts like Rush. Among the others are Korn, Nickelback, and Lynyrd Skynyrd (the newer incarnation of the band).

The box-set is divided into four periods: “Foundations,” which features early ultra heavy metal acts, “Horns Up,” which showcases 1990s moshpit acts, “And Metal for All,” which includes top acts of today, and then “Rock for the Ages,” which showcases its hard-rock bands.

The set will be available October 1. Learn more in Roadrunner Record’s announcement. Major online retailers will be carrying the box-set as well, but they don’t have it listed yet.

Track lists:

1. Mercyful Fate, “Evil”
2. Whiplash, “Power Thrashing Death”
3. King Diamond, “Abigail”
4. Carnivore, “Carnivore”
5. Obituary, “Slowly We Rot”
6. Annihilator, “Alison Hell”
7. Deicide, “Sacrificial Suicide”
8. Suffocation, “Infecting The Crypts”
9. Biohazard, “Punishment”
10. Type O Negative, “Christian Woman”
11. Brujeria, “Matando Güeros”
12. Cynic, “Veil of Maya”
13. Life of Agony, “Through and Through”
14. Treponem Pal, “Excess and Overdrive”

Disc 2 – HORNS UP:
1. Nailbomb, “Wasting Away”
2. Machine Head, “Imperium”
3. Dog Eat Dog, “No Fronts (Jam Master Jay’s Main Edit)”
4. Death, “Crystal Mountain”
5. Sepultura, “Roots Bloody Roots”
6. Coal Chamber, “Loco”
7. Soulfly, “Eye For an Eye”
8. Fear Factory, “Shock”
9. Slipknot, “Spit It Out”
10. Spineshank, “New Disease”
11. Chimaira, “Pure Hatred”
12. 36 Crazyfists, “Bloodwork”
13. Ill Niño, “What Comes Around”

1. Killswitch Engage, “My Last Serenade”
2. Trivium, “Pull Harder on the Strings of Your Martyr”
3. DevilDriver, “I Could Care Less”
4. Cradle of Filth, “Nymphetamine Fix”
5. Hatebreed, “Destroy Everything”
6. Cavalera Conspiracy, “Inflikted”
7. Roadrunner United, “The Dagger”
7. Porcupine Tree, “Fear of a Blank Planet”
8. Dream Theater, “On the Backs of Angels”
9. Opeth, “Heir Apparent”
10. Megadeth, “Head Crusher”
11. Down, “Witchtripper”
12. Heaven & Hell, “Bible Black”
13. Gojira, “L’enfant Sauvage”

1. Nickelback, “Side of a Bullet”
2. Jerry Cantrell, “Anger Rising”
3. Stone Sour, “30/30-150”
4. Karma to Burn, “Ma Petite Mort”
5. Glassjaw, “Pretty Lush”
6. The Dresden Dolls, “Girl Anachronism”
7. Airbourne, “No One Fits Me (Better Than You)”
8. Murderdolls, “Dead in Hollywood”
9. Theory of a Deadman, “Bad Girlfriend”
10. Black Stone Cherry, “Lonely Train”
11. Korn feat. Skrillex, “Get Up!”
12. Rush, “Headlong Flight”
13. Lynyrd Skynyrd, “Still Unbroken”

Thanks to RushIsAband for letting us know about the announcement.

 More This and That.

~ by rvkeeper on August 20, 2013.

%d bloggers like this: